The Top Three David Cronenberg Movies

The Baron Of Bloods Best Three

Tom C
3 min readSep 26, 2021

I love David Cronenberg. His shocking storytelling and extreme effects were the ultimate treat for a young teenage horror junkie. His attention to detail and imagination held my attention again and again. I never tire of his films and find myself uncovering layers of wisdom and new perspectives every time I revisit them.

Some kids grow up liking movies. Some kids grow up loving movies. Some kids grow up needing the escape to elsewhere. You either feel me here or you don’t. This is for you guys and and it is a tribute to the great director. My top three.

3) A History of Violence. One of his later movies and not seen in my teens, I hade to include it. It starts with a small town coffee shop owner defending a robbery attempt with ultra violence and lethal precision. Unleashing a chain of events that causes his past to resurface and threaten his world entire. A thoroughly enjoyable parable about family, loyalty and second chances. Brutal and unforgiving, the perfect juxtaposition between small town apple pie America and the violent shadow that is always close by. It is a movie that stays with you for a long time. Ed Harris, one of the greatest actors of our generation plays one of the main protagonists in a role he was made for.

--

--